I am always looking for ways to add greens into my family’s diet. And eating salads is not really something we enjoy that much… But I love green smoothies – it is something I quickly put together to cheer me up, when I am looking for an energy boost, or if I am craving something healthy or hearty. It is usually a breakfast replacement or an afternoon snack.  Even though I have been making smoothies for years now, I have never followed a recipe. No two smoothies of mine ever taste the same. I usually just blend whatever I have in my refrigerator and come up with something that satisfies me.

I also love chocolate 😉 and this recipe is just the drink to not make me feel guilty while I indulge.

Chocolate Green Smoothie Recipe

1 large handful of kale or spinach leaves

1 table spoon almond or peanut butter

2 cups almond milk (If you do not have almond milk, use 2 cups of filtered water and ½ cup of almonds instead)

1 banana (I use frozen to add to the creaminess and to skip the ice)

½ cup mixed berries

1 heaped table spoon raw cacao powder

A pinch cinnamon (optional)

Stevia, Honey, Coconut sugar or any healthy sweetener to taste.

 

Method – Place all ingredients in a high speed power blender. Blend until smooth and creamy.

 

Enjoy,

Loves,

Aarty

P. S – Tip – Every time I find bananas getting over-ripe, I peel and place them in a zip lock bag to freeze. They make a fantastic addition to the smoothies.

 

